1 min read

Sans Touchdown Histogram

How many NFL teams have won a game without scoring a touchdown since 2000?

This histogram answers that question. Since 2000, 68 total teams have won a game in the regular season or playoffs without scoring a touchdown. Only two of those games were in the playoffs.

The data here is pulled from stathead.com by Sports-Reference. A Stathead membership is like a library card to the largest sports history treasure trove. This data was pulled in less than two minutes.

This uses the ggplot package and economist theme.

Code is below . . .


data <- read.csv('no-tds.csv')

p1 <- ggplot(data, aes(x=Year)) + theme_economist() + scale_colour_economist() +
  geom_histogram(binwidth=1, color="black", fill="#FBFFB9") +
  theme(legend.position="bottom", legend.direction="horizontil",
        legend.title = element_blank()) +
  scale_x_continuous(breaks=seq(2000,2020,1)) +
  scale_y_continuous(breaks=seq(0,8,1)) +
  stat_bin(binwidth=1, geom="text", aes(label=..count..), vjust=-1.5) +
  labs(x="Year", y="Frequency", 
title = "NFL: How Many Teams Win Without a Touchdown Season-by-Season Since 2000",
        caption = "Data source: stathead.com")